

Douglas College Board Meeting Minutes

NOVEMBER 15, 2012 OPEN SESSION MEETING

5:00 p.m., David Lam Campus Boardroom

Open Meeting File 2012-11-15, approved January 24, 2013

IN ATTENDANCE Board Members

Bruce Clarke Mark Darville Peter Kendrick, Vice Chair Marina Kolar Scott McAlpine, President (ex-officio) Elizabeth McCausland, Education Council Chair (ex-officio) Gerry Shinkewski Sydney Tomchenko Jim Utley, Vice Chair; HRC Chair Don Valeri Paul Wates, Chair Shelley Williams, AFC Chair

Administration

Kathy Denton, Vice President, Academic (VPA) Shelagh Donnelly, Executive Assistant to the College Board; recording Blaine Jensen, Vice President, Educational Services (VPES) Maureen McGee, Administrative Assistant; administrative support Karen Maynes, Vice President, Finance and Administration (VPFA) Guangwei Ouyang, Associate Vice President, International (AVPI) Vicki Shillington, Interim Associate Vice President, Human Resources (AVPHR) Chris Worsley, Director, Finance

Observers Devlin Pereira, DSU Len Millis, DCFA

GUESTS

Tracy Ho and Deans Dr. Thor Borgford, Dr. Catherine Carlson and Meg Stainsby

REGRETS Board Member(s) Nicole Liddell

Administration Hazel Postma, Associate Vice President, External Relations Dave Taylor, Director, Marketing and Communications Office (MCO) **Observer(s)** Sandra Mountain, BCGEU

1. CALL TO ORDER AND CHAIR'S REMARKS

There being a quorum present, Chair Paul Wates called the meeting to order at 5:08 p.m. He welcomed all in attendance and conveyTw[290 Eregr-5.0006TwA.0005 Tc.0027Twhair)-4iomGRETomGRE Sandra Mountain.57ni. conveTS