

Douglas College Board Meeting Minutes

June 18, 2015 OPEN SESSION MEETING

5:00 p.m., New Westminster Campus Boardroom

Open Meeting File 2015-06-18, approved September 24, 2015

IN ATTENDANCE Board Members

Aaron Bayes ¹ Graeme Bowbrick

Jane Butterfield, AFC Chair

Jason Carvalho

Kathy Denton, President (ex-officio)

Katryna Koenig 1

Debbie Oster, Acting HRC Chair

Dave Seaweed

Tom Spraggs, TSC Chair Shelley Williams, Board Chair

Administration

Thor Borgford, VP Academic and Provost

Keith Ellis, Director, Institutional Research and Planning

Shelagh Donnelly, College Secretary; recording Vicki Shillington, Associate VP, Human Resources

Dave Taylor, Associate VP, Business Development and Strategic Communications

Tracey Ternoway, VP, Finance and Administration

Chris Worsley, Director, Finance

Observers

Ryan Cousineau², BCGEU Len Millis for Erin Rozman, DCFA

Ruab Waraich, DSU

Guests

Tracy Ho, Ian McLeod, Dave Teixeira

REGRETS

Board Member(s)

Todd Harper, Chair, Education Council Peter Kendrick, Vice Chair Jeevan Khunkhun, CPC Chair Nicole Liddell, HRC Chair Gerry Shinkewski, Vice Chair

¹ late arrival

² early departure

Administration

Guangwei Ouyang, VP, International Education and Strategic Partnerships Hazel Postma, Associate VP, Advancement & External Relations

Observers

Erin Rozman, DCFA

1. CALL TO ORDER AND CHAIRS REMARKS

20/2015 THAT the Douglas College Board approve the agenda and approve/acknowledge the following items on the consent agenda:

Regular Meeting of June 18, 2015; Page 2 of 6

b) Government: 2015-16 Mandate Letter

The Board Chair thanked all members for signing the mandate letter, for return to government prior to June 30, 2015.

c) Recognition of Outgoing Board members

The Board Chair expressed the Board's appreciation to outgoing members Aaron Bayes, Todd Harper, Peter Kendrick and Katryna Koenig, and noted that formal recognition would be offered in October 2015. Ms. Koenig expressed appreciation for the opportunity to have served and learned from the experience.

d) Appointment and Reappointments to the Board

The Board Chair reported on government's appointment of Mr. Dave Teixeira to the Board, effective July 31, 2015 and thanked Mr. Teixeira for attending the meeting as an observer. She reported that she had been reappointed to the Board, as had Jane Butterfield, Jason Carvalho, Nicole Liddell and Tom Spraggs.

e) 2015-16 Board Committees and Liaisons: Appointments and Ratifications

The Board Chair outlined the BEGC's recommendations on committee and liaison assignments, and reported that the incoming student members had been consulted as part of the process.

It was moved by Debbie Oster, seconded by Dave Seaweed, and unanimously resolved:

THAT the Douglas College Board approve the following Committee and Liaison appointments, effective September 1, 2015:

i. Audit and Finance Committee (AFC):

f) Board Development:

i. Summer 2015 Board Orientation: Tuesday, August 18

The Board Chair advised that a full day of orientation for the Board's four new members was planned for August 18, 2015.

ii. 2015 Conference Reports: Bowbrick, Butterfield, Oster

The Board Chair invited discussion on the conference reports contained in the agenda package. She advised that the Board's Fall 2015 st

Members queried whether KPMG's audits identified any legal issues. The AFC Chair reported that KPMG's audit includes a review of legal matters, and that the auditors raised no legal matters for the AFC's attention. She also noted that management has implemented a process in which it conducts and signs off on an annual compliance review, and that the AFC recently reviewed management's 2014-15 compliance report.

It was moved by Jane Butterfield, seconded by Tom Spraggs, and unanimously resolved: